top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Flowers

My Six Month Curly Hair Journey


Hey Loves,

I was looking through pictures and I noticed that my hair has gone through such a transformation and I wanted to share it with you guys. I dyed my hair in April 2018. Before that, I have dyed my hair numerous times. I have had red hair, black hair, different shades of brown hair, blonde highlights, just a lot of unflattering looks. A look I always wanted to achieve was the balayage. For those of you that don't know, a balayage is basically like an ombré that doesn't have such a dip-dye effect because it blends higher up towards the roots. At least that's how I would explain it. If that even makes sense. Anyways, I had tried to get that balayage a couple times and each time it had gone wrong. After the second time, I decided I would give my hair a break from the bleaching and I would dye it all one color. It took a few color fills and all over colors, but then in April 2018 I had one color.

This picture is from April 2018, which was the last time I dyed my hair. It was much darker, but I knew it would fade out.


In May, it had faded a little bit, but was still darker than I wanted it to be. It was also looking pretty dry and damaged.


In June, I had gotten sick of my hair being so damaged looking, so my mom cut it. It looked so fresh, healthy and more curly. It also had faded more, and began to pull more red. My hair is naturally a dark brown, but in the sun it always has a red tint.


July rolled around, and I was finally getting happier with my hair. I had volume, hydration, and the color was getting much lighter.


August was the month I was traveling through Europe, and it was hard on my hair. It was extremely dehydrated and needed a trim, but it had faded down to a nice golden and light brown mix. (p.s. yes I am in the airplane bathroom in this picture)


Now it is the beginning of October, and I don't have any pictures of my hair. Just know, I'm happy with my hair right now, but always experimenting and finding new things. I have switched to shampoo and conditioner for curly hair, I am testing out new hair products, and other stuff. I still haven't dyed my hair, but I am thinking about going a little bit darker for winter but I'm not sure yet. What do you guys think?

I'm not really sure why I made this post, but I just wanted to share a little bit of my hair journey the past 6 months. Let me know if you want to have more hair updates!

XOXO Courtney

bottom of page